Apparently This is Normal

Knowing Me, Knowing You

In Friendship, Love, Personal development on January 18, 2014 at 6:12 pm

You’ve not been around for long. But already I like you. There’s an unspoken bond being forged here. An organic synthesis of two kindred souls amid an antithesis of two decidedly different lives. Who knows, you may not stick around. But for now, you’re here. And I like you.

You’ve not been around for long. But I can’t help but be drawn to you. There’s an undeniable friendship being formed right here. A  subliminal connection between two minds of unmistakably similar matter. Who knows, friends come and friends go. But between us is a feeling of being felt that can never be unfelt. And for now, you’re here. So I’m glad.

It wasn’t by chance that you walked into my life. Be it five years ago, six months ago or four weeks ago. But it didn’t take long to realise that we’d known each other long before we would ever even meet. For knowing me, is knowing you. And if we’ve all been here before, then you must have been here with me. So it was only a matter of time before we’d find one another. One way or another. Again. You see, we’re on the same page, in the same chapter, of the same book, you and me. We have a lot of ground to cover. And it’s excitingly refreshing.

It’s not coincidence that we share the same birthday. Or that we are connected by the most compatible birth signs. It’s not without significance that we’re both charged by the same spiritual batteries. Motivated by the same burning desire to learn and self-improve. Crushed by the same compulsive anxiety that makes us self-destruct if things don’t go our way. But having you close is a comfort and a joy. And for this, I’m grateful.

We’ve not known each other for long. But already you get me. And I wonder, if more so than I get myself sometimes. For you’ve come to know in a matter of weeks, what others have known in a matter of decades.  Cut out the crap – we’re too old for all of that. Life coach, love coach, career coach, mental approach. You’ve deliberated my future and you’ve dictated my quarrels. You’ve shed my tears and you’ve laughed my jokes. You’ve sat when I needed someone just to sit, you’ve talked when I needed someone just to G’dam talk. And when my left brain has shut down, you have been my reason, my rationale, my reminder. A reminder that friends like you are pure gold. And for that, I feel enriched.

None of you have been around me for very long. But you know who you are. And for that alone, I thank you.

Does my scale of normality mean anything to you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

