Health · Home and Family · Working mum

Tune in, cop out

Tonight I need to immerse myself in shit.

Not shit of the wallowing kind

just the usual trash

on TV.

I thought I should make it clear

because I sense that you’re struggling

to let go.

The kids are asleep, the washing in piles.

It’s not that i’m tired –

I don’t even have a headache

[for a change]

I just can’t be bothered.

Granted it’s a difficult ask for the likes of you

but

if you can just lay off

for an hour, a minute, a second even –

it would help.

You see, I’m feeling more fragile than usual

and with too much exertion baby,

I might just very well

break.

Dear Mind,

Tonight I just need to immerse myself in shit.

I’ll diarise to think again

tomorrow.

Does my scale of normality mean anything to you?

