Children & babies · General parenting · Love · Motherhood

At One Today

I must have blinked

Because a year has gone by

And I didn’t notice

You change.

Apparently it’s normal

To be sentimental –

Emotional even,

On a day like today. A momentous day like today.

Your big day.

But I’m not emotional because

You’re the beloved baby

We thought we’d never have.

What’s there to be emotional about?

But still –

Can somebody wake me up

Because a year has passed

And it’s just passed me by

Almost oblivious.

Apparently it’s normal

For time to fly when you’re having fun.

But I’d like to slow time down

Please

So that I can feel today what I will remember

Forever.

Happy birthday baby girl

You’re one today!

One thought on “At One Today

Does my scale of normality mean anything to you?

