Children & babies · Health · Motherhood

Half the Woman

There’s no such thing as infertility these days

Apparently.

And that was supposed to comfort me

On my most barren of days,

Laid up

Among the geri’s

On F4.

It’s normal to question the future at times like this

Apparently.

So take comfort young woman –

There’s no such thing as infertility these days.

But that line didn’t cut the mustard

When

Half the woman I used to be

I became,

With the single snip of the scissors.

To mourn a life, it’s┬ánormal when you experience loss

Apparently.

But I was already mourning a future –

Our future –

As

Half the woman I could have been

I became,

With the solitary swipe of a knife.

But a few years on

And there’s no such thing as half a woman.

I hear you now

And I can speak again

So take comfort young women –

Because there really is life after “Ectopia”.

I just would never have believed it

Until you arrived.

One thought on “Half the Woman

Does my scale of normality mean anything to you?

